Information About Lesotho

Useful Information

 Lesotho is a land-locked contry with only one neighbour – South Africa. The country has a surface area of 30 355 square kilometres, and according to estimates, had a population of approximately 1 930 000 in July 2012. Leostho summers are hot, with average temperatures in the mid-summer months (December to February) averaging 27 degrees Celcius. Winter is crisp, with frequent snowfalls occurring in the highlands. In the lower-lying areas the winter days are usually clear and cool, with night-time temperatures regularly reaching below zero. The citizens of Lesotho are known as Basotho (singular Mosotho).  
 Business hours in Lesotho are Mondays to Fridays from 8h00 to 17h00 excluding public holidays. Lesotho’s time zone is GMT plus two hours. Lesotho has three commercial banks, Nedbank, Standard Lesotho Bank, and First National Bank. Normal banking hours are Monday to Friday from 8h30 to 15h30 and Saturdays from 8h30 to 12h00. Lesotho’s standard unit of currency is the loti (plural maloti) which is equivalent in value to the South Africa Rand (ZAR), and is actually linked to the South African currency, thus always identical in value. The South African Rand is also legal tender in Lesotho.    
 Visitors to Lesotho must be in possession of a passport valid for at least six months beyond the intended duration of stay. Visas are required by visitors from all countries except those with which Lesotho has visa abolition agreements. Visitors are encouraged to contact their embassies prior to travelling to Lesotho to enquire about visa requirements.